"A Jersey Boys Christmas"

Cast Members Put Signature Spin
On Christmas Classics

First Ever Holiday Album From A Broadway Show

For those of you who just can't get enough of "Jersey Boys," take heart. To celebrate the holidays, members of the award-winning "Jersey Boys" casts around the globe have come together to record "A Jersey Boys Christmas," a selection of Christmas classics in the style of Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons. This marks the first time that a Broadway show has released a holiday album.

The recording was produced by Bob Gaudio, a founding member of The Four Seasons and the group’s principal songwriter. The musical director and arranger for the project was Ron Melrose, who also arranged music for the "Jersey Boys" stage production.

The eclectic album features performances by six stars from the various "Jersey Boys" casts – Joseph Leo Bwarie (a member of the National Touring Company which played Boston twice), Travis Cloer (Las Vegas), Rick Faugno (Las Vegas), Bobby Fox (Australia), Ryan Molloy (London) and Jarrod Spector (Broadway) – plus John Lloyd Young, who won the 2006 Tony Award for his portrayal of Valli in the original Broadway production. .

Many of the melodies and choral harmonies that catapulted the quartet from the streets of Newark into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are woven into the classic holiday songs on "A Jersey Boys Christmas." Listen for hints of “Come On Marianne” and “Oh What A Night” in the album opener “Joy To The World / O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” plus traces of “Bye Bye Baby” in “Winter Wonderland.”

For the "Jersey Boys" first Christmas on Broadway in 2006, the cast recorded “O Holy Night” for a Christmas album to benefit Broadway charities. This new album features a new version of the song with a fresh arrangement that includes lines from the spiritual, “Rise Up, Shepherd.”

Other highlights include a doo-wop version of “White Christmas” inspired by The Drifters and “Santa Medley,” which infuses signature "Jersey Boys" harmonies into a trio of holiday favorites. Also featured is a unique version of “Angels From The Realms Of Glory” filtered through ’80s synth-rock with a touch of Beethoven’s “Ninth Symphony” thrown in.

Here's a track listing:

1. “Joy To The World / O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” – Ryan Molloy
2. “Winter Wonderland” – Rick Faugno
3. “Little Drummer Boy” – Joseph Leo Bwarie
4. “Santa Medley: (Santa Claus is Coming to Town / Here Comes Santa Claus / I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus)” – John Lloyd Young
5. “O Holy Night / Rise Up Shepherd” – Jersey Boys Ensemble featuring Mark Ivey, with soloists Michael Ingersoll and Tituss Burgess
6. “God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen” – Bobby Fox
7. “Jingle Bell Rock” – Joseph Leo Bwarie
8. “A King Is Born” – Jarrod Spector
9. “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” – John Lloyd Young
10. “White Christmas” – Ryan Molloy
11. “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” – Jarrod Spector
12. “Angels From The Realms Of Glory” – Bobby Fox
13. “Silver Bells / Silent Night” – Travis Cloer
14. “Do You Hear What I Hear?” – Rick Faugno
15. “Breath Of Heaven / We Three Kings” – Travis Cloer
16. “Carol Of The Bells / Angels We Have Heard On High - Jersey Boys
17. Auld Lang Syne” – Jersey Boys Ensemble featuring Joseph Leo Bwarie, Travis Cloer, Rick Faugno, Bobby Fox, Ryan Molloy, Jarrod Spector, John Lloyd Young and Erik Bates

"A Jersey Boys Christmas" is available now in stores, through Rhino Records or at Amazon.com.

-- OnStage Boston



To receive an email Update when new pages are posted at OnStage Boston, click here.


© 2002-2004 RJD Associates. All Rights Reserved.
No portion of this site may be reprinted or reproduced without prior written permission.