2007 Norton Award Winners

The 25th Anniversary Elliot Norton Awards, honored excellence in theatre in the Greater Boston area, were presented on May 21, at the Cutler Majestic Theatre.  The awards are presented annually by The Boston Theater Critics Association.


The following awards were presented.

Norton Prize For Sustained Excellence:         
Eugene Lee
“For four decades of intricate, imaginative set designs extending from Trinity Repertory to Broadway and beyond.”

25th Anniversary Awards:         

Mayor Thomas M. Menino
“An indefatigable champion of the stage whose efforts brought us the rebuilt Opera House and two new theaters at the Boston Center for the Arts.”

Jon B. Platt
“Who spearheaded the gorgeous three-year renovation of the Colonial Theatre and filled it and other venues with memorable productions.”

Jon Kimbell
“Who during a quarter century overcame fire and water to build a thriving center for musicals old and new.”

Robert Woodruff
“Who challenged local audiences with a daring, global menu of theatrical fare.”

Special Citation:              
Harvard Theatre Collection
“which, dating from 1915, and now housing many millions of items, is the world’s oldest major treasury of performing-arts memorabilia.”

Outstanding Visiting Production:    

Outstanding Design, Small/Midsize Company:    
Dewey Dellay (Sound)
"Miss Witherspoon," "9 Parts of Desire" (Lyric Stage Company), "The Women" (SpeakEasy Stage Company)

Outstanding Design, Large Company:    
Christine Jones (Set Design)
"The Onion Cellar" (American Repertory Theatre)
Justin Townsend (Lighting Design)
"The Onion Cellar" (American Repertory Theatre)

Outstanding Solo Performance:    
Stan Strickland
"Coming Up for Air: An AutoJAZZography" (Alliger Arts)

Outstanding Musical Performance:    
Leigh Barrett
"Ragtime" (New Repertory Theatre), "Souvenir" (Lyric Stage Company)

Outstanding Director, Small/Fringe Company:         
Jon Lipsky
"Coming Up for Air: An AutoJAZZography" (Alliger Arts),
"King of the Jews" (Boston Playwrights’ Theatre)

Outstanding Director, Midsize Company:              
David R. Gammons
"Titus Andronicus" (Actors’ Shakespeare Project)

Outstanding Director, Large Company:              
Nicholas Martin
"Love’s Labour’s Lost" (Huntington Theatre Company)

Outstanding Actor, Small/Midsize Company:    
Larry Coen
"The Plexiglass Menagerie," "Silent Night of the Lambs" (The Gold Dust Orphans), "Miss Witherspoon" (Lyric Stage Company), "The Taming of the Shrew" (Commonwealth Shakespeare Company), "Samurai 7.0: Under Construction" (Beau Jest Moving Theatre)

Outstanding Actress, Small/Midsize Company:         
Paula Plum
"A Midsummer Night’s Dream" (Boston Theatre Works), "Miss Witherspoon" (Lyric Stage Company)
Outstanding Actor, Large Company:              
Michael Aronov
"Mauritius" (Huntington Theatre Company)

Outstanding Actress, Large Company:              
Joan MacIntosh
"Britannicus" (American Repertory Theatre)

Outstanding Production by a Fringe Company:              
"Stuff Happens" (Zeitgeist Stage Company)

Outstanding Production by a Small Company:              
"A Midsummer Night’s Dream" (Boston TheatreWorks)

Outstanding Production  by a Midsize Company:              
"Miss Witherspoon" (Lyric Stage Company)

Outstanding Production by a Large Company:              
"Mauritius" (Huntington Theatre Company)

Outstanding Musical Production:    
"Caroline, or Change" (SpeakEasy Stage Company)

The award selection committee included: Terry Byrne, Carolyn Clay. Iris Fanger, Louise Kennedy, Joyce Kulhawik, Robert Nesti, Ed Siegel and Caldwell Titcomb. 

To view a complete list of nominees, click here.

-- OnStage Boston



To receive an email Update when new pages are posted at OnStage Boston, click here.


© 2002-2004 RJD Associates. All Rights Reserved.
No portion of this site may be reprinted or reproduced without prior written permission.